Tags

, , , , ,

I found this really awesome blog article via Twitter titled I Think, therefore I Blog on Steve Wheeler’s blog, Learning with E’s, which made me rethink my own blogs.  Wheeler cites two main reasons why teachers don’t blog:  time, and lack of confidence in sharing their ideas.  I’m afraid I totally identify with the latter.

Sharing ideas has never sat well with me.  I hated participating in class discussions in graduate school because I always felt that my ideas lacked innovation.  Every time it was my turn to share, a  little voice said, “who the hell cares what you think.”

Now that I’m pursuing a Master’s Degree in Educational Technology, where regular sharing is mandatory for surviving the program, my confidence has increased exponentially.  As Wheeler points out in his article, this sharing of ideas is risky business, but it’s valuable for professionals.

Coming to think of it, sharing is what knowledge construction and learning in the 21st century is all about.  Music history scholars, for instance, do not come up with unique ways for understanding a musical text, for instance, by themselves, in a vacuum.  History scholars, and indeed scientists and anyone who researches, writes, publishes, creates lesson plans, writes curriculum depend upon the contributions of past and contemporary scholars.  Learning is no different, and teachers are in the business of learning, too.

My biggest fear as a professional blogger is just that:  I consider myself a professional, and I really hope that my blogs are worthy of that classification, AND that they generate discussion among fellow educators.

I still wrestle with voice in this blog.  Blogs were originally private journals made public.  My private journals are way too steamy to put out there; but, in concealing my private life, I also conceal my authentic voice, and my blog writing, I feel, gives the impression of emotional detachment.  What is an appropriate voice for blogs that strikes a balance between private journalling and writing for a peer-reviewed journal?

Whatever one’s obstacles to blogging–fear, lack of time, not having anything to say, being unable to find one’s authentic voice–the advantages of sharing ideas, getting feedback, generating discussion far outweigh the disadvantages.  When teachers blog, they set a good example for their students:  they show them that teachers are thinking, writing professionals who continue to learn.  Students see teachers as human.

References:

I Blog, Therefore I am [image].  Accessed September 3, 2011 from http://www.calmadigital.info/uploads/imagenes/

Wheeler, S (2011, September3).  I think, therefore I blog [Web log message].  Retrieved from http://steve-wheeler.blogspot.com/2011/09/i-think-therefore-i-blog.html

